//
you're reading...
Personal Branding, Public Relations, Social Media, Social Networking

Unconventional Methods Of Measuring Social Media Success

I find it interesting that there are people who base their “social media success” on how many friends, followers and connections he or she has in his or her network on social media platforms such as Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn, respectively.

If that is how your company chooses to base its “success” (on a quantitative level), then more power to you and your business!

I, however, like to view social media success through a more qualitative lens. I like to think how many people in my network are engaged and responsive, versus how many people in my network do I have to struggle to get a response from?

See the difference? See how the latter question is much more difficult to attain an answer to than the former?

But how does one know IF he or she HAS achieved that qualitative success–those engaged friends, followers or connections?

Sure, there are tools and “apps” that will help you gauge your social media success. We see those types of articles frequently posted by social media and PR news hubs such as PRDaily and SocialMediaExaminer.

Here are some methods that I’ve found helpful that are not as conventional as methods you might find in other articles, and can be determined regardless of your personal network size:

 

  • [LinkedIn] >> Profile Views

    In my opinion, the profile views option on LinkedIn is one of the most underrated privileges a person has on this social networking site. In this section of your LinkedIn profile page (usually the bottom right portion of the screen), you have the opportunity to see how many visitors have viewed your profile within the past “#” days.

    If you’re looking to build a strong network, this number is very important. In essence, this amount tells you how many people are trying to connect with you or simply want to find out more about you. The lower the number, consider this: is my profile difficult to find? Have I given people enough reason/opportunity to find me on LinkedIn?

 

  • [Twitter] >> Follower to List Ratio

    How many lists are following you on Twitter? One? Seven? None?
    I have such sincere appreciation for users who have included me in their Twitter lists. The fact that one of my followers is engaged enough in what I have to say (or… Tweet) that he or she would find my Twitter account and closely track my feed isn’t something to be taken for granted.
    There are other bloggers who have laid out how to calculate your Follower to List Ratio and you’re more than welcome to figure it out on your own. IF you figure it out, let me know what your number is!
    Having a large amount of followers on Twitter is great… but how many of those followers are engaged enough to include you in their lists?

 

  • [Wordpress] >> Retweets and Comments Per Page View

    We would be apt to think that the more posts one puts on his or her page, the more view he or she will get and the more activity the blog will see. How can a blogger, then, be able to calculate just how much success (again, the quality) he or she is gaining from all these views.
    Two ways: 1) consider how many comments you’re getting per post. Me? I’m not getting a whole LOT of comments because my network isn’t huge and I’ve only just started blogging. 2) How many retweets has your blog received? If you’ve received 800 page views and only 10 retweets, you’ve essentially gained 1 retweet for every 80 page views — not the best, but better than nothing, eh?

About Carlos Perez

A public relations professional, I graduated from California State University Fresno in spring 2011. I understand the importance of integrity, loyalty and respect. I understand the idea that, in a public relations perspective, "Perception is Reality." While I am still young in the profession, I am fearless of the many possibilities that lie ahead in the industry, and in life.

Discussion

One thought on “Unconventional Methods Of Measuring Social Media Success

  1. Ever since I started my blogThe Political Slant, I’ve been interested in learning more about how to drive traffic to my blog. One of the most important items to address is selecting the right web hosting company to host your blog.

    Posted by whaljnudnc@gmail.com | February 20, 2014, 12:33 am

What do you think?

